Safe Zone

The VCU Police Department treats everyone equally, regardless of sexual orientation. If you need help, we’re going to help you. We are an ally.

The University Counseling Services VCU Safe Zone program is designed to reduce homophobia and improve safety and freedom on campus.

Many of VCU’s officers have completed Safe Zone training that promotes greater understanding and communication with lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered students, faculty and staff.

Image of the VCU Safe Zone emblem

Safe Zone Trained Staff

NamePhoneEmail
Chief John Venuti (804) 828-1210 javenuti@vcu.edu
Assistant Chief Chris Preuss (804) 828-7473 cdpreuss@vcu.edu
Sergeant Edgar Greer (804) 828-1196 egreer@vcu.edu
Officer Curtis Diesselhorst (804) 828-1196 diesselhorcr@vcu.edu
Christi Schroeder (804) 828-7071 cschroeder3@vcu.edu
Captain Mike O'Berry (804) 828-2025 hmoberry@vcu.edu
Officer Sean Longnecker (804) 828-1196 longneckerss@vcu.edu
Officer Karl Arkwright (804) 828-1196 karkwright@vcu.edu
Officer Olushola Kayode (804) 828-1196 ookayode@vcu.edu
Officer Joseph Demro (804) 828-1196 jsdemro@vcu.edu
Donisha M. Terry (804) 828-1196 dnterry@vcu.edu
Officer Ian McAllister (804) 828-1196 itmcallister@vcu.edu
Sergeant Duane Thorp (804) 828-2257 dcthorp@vcu.edu
Lieutenant Bill Butters (804) 828-1196 wlbutter@vcu.edu
Officer Lee Olds (804) 828-1196 oldskl@vcu.edu
Officer Polly Griffin  (804) 828-1196  pfgriffin@vcu.edu
Lieutenant Nicholas Hill  (804) 828-1196 hillnp@vcu.edu
Sergeant Kyle Frail (804) 828-1196 frailkr@vcu.edu
Sergeant Doug Dawson (804) 828-1196 djdawson@vcu.edu
Officer Chris Riedemann (804) 828-1196 criedemann@vcu.edu
Officer Jose Dejesus (804) 828-1196 edejesus@vcu.edu
Sergeant Jennifer Riemann (804) 828-1196 jlriemann@vcu.edu
Officer Jody Atkins (804) 828-1196 jmatkins@vcu.edu
Officer Chelsey McCarty
(804) 828-1196 camccarty@vcu.edu
Sergeant Patience Butters (804) 828-1196 pmbutters@vcu.edu
Sergeant Joel Abernathy (804) 828-1196 jabernathy2@vcu.edu
Jennifer Brown (804) 828-8387 jmbrown@vcu.edu
Officer Elizabeth Seabridge (804) 828-1196 egseabridge@vcu.edu
Sergeant Aaron LaVigne (804) 828-1196 aklavigne@vcu.edu
Officer Ben Bone (804) 828-1196 bonebi@vcu.edu
Connie Davidson (804) 828-9843 ccdavids@vcu.edu
Officer India Brown (804) 828-1196 brownin@vcu.edu
Officer Brandi Boyd (804) 828-1196 bmboyd@vcu.edu
Officer Nicholas Finch (804) 828-1196 nfinch@vcu.edu
Officer Jason Helmlinger (804) 828-1196 jwhelmlinger@vcu.edu
Officer Andrew Riggott (804) 828-1196 riggottat@vcu.edu
Officer Joshua Willis (804) 828-1196 willisjs@vcu.edu
Officer Nathaniel Whitenack (804) 828-1196 nwhitenack@vcu.edu
Sergeant Nicole Dailey (804) 828-6226 nvdailey@vcu.edu